Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking

A Unique Culinary Adventure in Cabo

¡VIVA MEXICO!

Just a quick note to let you all know I haven’t forgotten you or my blog… it’s just been an unusually busy and eventful rainy season.  This is a blessing, since we are usually in the doldrums waiting for the heat and hurricanes to pass us by so we can get back to our regularly scheduled program…

The Bicentennial celebration here in Cabo was pretty quiet, with awesome displays of Chinese fireworks (¡Viva China!), and we had a small gathering of friends to share a big platter of Mexico’s national dish, Chiles en Nogada.  Unfortunately those babies disappeared before I got a chance to get a picture of the platter!  I have a shot of Chiles en Nogada in a prominent location so you get the idea. 

A VERY simple and delicious version of the nut sauce is a cup of Mexican crema, 1/2 cup very finely chopped toasted nuts (walnuts are traditional but I love pecans in this recipe), 1 tsp. Worcestershire and just a few drops of Maggi seasoning (available in Mexican groceries)… one small clove of garlic, crushed and a  grind or two of balck pepper, and wow!  With a well seasoned picadillo filling, you really don’t need a more elaborate cream sauce.

I’ll leave you all on that note, and will make an effort to get some good pictures up.  Just now I had no luck with an upload but I won’t let it stop me.

As action packed as this low season has been, I can’t wait for high season to start!  I hope to hear from you, and to cook with you soon.

Muchos saludos,

Donna

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

