Casa de Colores School of Traditional Mexican Cooking

A Unique Culinary Adventure in Cabo

¡Hot Hot Hot!

Muchos saludos to all from Cabo, which is rapidly heating up for the summer just like these fiery little roasted serranos!  We still have a few weeks before the steady heat of the hurricane season sets in, but we get a day here and there that reminds us what we’re in for.

I’ve been remiss in my blogging… but I did manage to tile  my cement “plunge pool” which seemed like a good idea when we had a week or so of volcano heat a while back.  Here’s a shot to give you an idea how it came out… It’s an arroyo motif, with river rocks set in… cool to look at, cool to sit in!  Can you believe, since I got it done it’s been too cool to use?  That’s June and July in Cabo, what my friend Barb calls the “Secret Season”.  Oh yeah.

Arroyo Motif

But I digress…  There is plenty of food afoot hereabouts.  On my way to the laundry the other day there was a truckload of ripe mangos set up under a nice makeshift tarp shade.  I plan to get over to get some, and will snap a few shots so you all can see how pretty they look — and I know they will smell and taste even better!  I will, of course, ask the ladies who are selling them for some favorite recipes. 

I was in Soriana the other day (a big supermarket geared for the Mexican cook) and happened on a huge sale of elotes (fresh ears of corn) at the back of the vegetable department.  They were so cheap they were virtually paying you to haul them off, and they had LOTS of takers!  I sharpened up my elbows and waded into the fray, taking advantage of the opportunity to chat with fellow foodies and ask what they planned to do with their ears. 

Fresh corn is a whole different concept here in Mexico — not the sweet eating ears we are so addicted to in the U.S., these are starchy field corn, ideal for preparing certain traditional dishes like the delicious, tender Uchepos (fresh corn tamales) of Michoacan.  In response to my question I received varying answers.  One younger woman was going to make “panque” (like a pound cake), another a pudding.  For my part, I made a delicious corn flan, the kind you invert to coat with the delicious caramel topping.

Mexicans are always delighted to discuss food!  Even the senior citizens (lots of them older gentlemen) bagging your grocieries at Soriana will engage you in lively discussions of dishes and their preparation… and of course food memories.

I’ll be back with stories and pictures over the summer.  Meanwhile, you all stay cool and let me know what you’re having at your picnics and pool parties wherever you are!

¡Buen provecho!

Donna

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

